How to turn likes/favorites into revenue

Oh. You thought I was going to answer that? No. I have no idea how to do that. It’s just something that’s been on my mind for the last few months.

Here’s the deal. I have an Etsy shop. Well, 3 Etsy shops. (ArtYouCanUse, RebelYouthGraphics, RebelYouthClipArt) Etsy has awesome seller tools that allow you to track all sorts of things. It tells you where people find your items or shop, what search words they are using, landing pages and so on. (Much like Google Analytics but dumbed down for ease of use.)

Around Valentine’s Day, people were flocking to my shop to look at my Ryan Gosling Mug. Then it got picked up by several blogs and online magazines, including Elle.com and MTV.ca. Sales were great, so I didn’t really worry about converting views and likes to sales at that point. I was just really excited to be getting so much attention. But this month has been a big bummer. I’m still getting views and favorites, but they’re not turning into revenue.

I noticed that someone must have posted one of my mugs (Boondock Saints Mug) on Facebook somewhere. So I went to Facebook and searched around, looking for my mug, hoping to post a thank you comment, or make a special offer for those that find my mug on Facebook. No luck. I can’t seem to figure out how to entice these viewers to not just look at my item, but to BUY IT ALREADY!!!

Here’s an image of part of the stats that Etsy provides. You can see that quite a few of my views are coming from Facebook.

Image

So, if you’ve had this situation and want to rant or share some secrets, or if you’re an expert and know some things I don’t, please comment here. Spread the love!

Leave a Reply

